Facebook has issued an apology for an error that make private posts of 14 million people public, the information ended up being shown to everyone even if the information was only designed to be shown to specific people.
The social network has now published an apology on its website about this new bug which affects around 14 million people.
We recently found a bug that automatically suggested posting publicly when some people were creating their Facebook posts. Today we started letting the 14 million people affected know – and asking them to review any posts they made during that time. To be clear, this bug did not impact anything people had posted before, and they could still choose their audience just as they always have.
Every time you share something on Facebook, we show you an audience selector so you can decide who gets to see the post. This is based on the people you shared with last time you posted. For example, if you choose to share a photo with friends only, your audience selector will automatically suggest you share to friends next time you start a post. If you shared something publicly last time, it will suggest public the time after.
You can find out more information over at Facebook at the link below this is just the latest issue for the company and peoples personal data.