Google has announced a new feature for Google Maps called Your Timeline, it is designed to show you where you have been and the places you have visited.
The new Maps Your Timeline is private and can only be seen by you on your device and you can choose which locations you want to keep and which ones you want to get rid of.
Your Timeline is private and visible only to you; and you control the locations you choose to keep. This means you can easily delete a day or your full history at any time. You can edit any place that appears in Your Timeline, including removing a specific location or giving a frequented spot a private name like — Mom’s House or My Favorite Running Spot. This spot will then appear right in Google Maps when you’re logged in.
Available on desktop and Android, you can access Your Timeline if you’ve opted-in to store your Location History with Google. If you have this setting enabled, you may already be familiar with the useful experiences it can offer across our products, such as providing Now notifications when there are traffic incidents along your commute or reminding you where you parked your car. With Your Timeline, you have even more ways to view and control your location data. And with last month’s launch of My Account, you can easily access and manage your Location History setting and all your Google settings in one place.
You can find out more details about the new Your Timeline feature for Google Maps over at the Google blog at the link below.