Nintendo has today confirmed that Switch saves will be saved for six months after Nintendo Switch Online members cancel their accounts. It was originally thought that the as members cancel their accounts or put them on hold any game saves would be immediately deleted. Nintendo has now clarified that this is not the case and any saves will still be available to those users who resubscribe within 180 days.
Early rumours have now been removed thanks to a statement by a Nintendo representative to the IGN website, explaining : “”If a Nintendo Switch Online membership expires, users won’t be able to access their Save Data Cloud backups. However, Nintendo will allow users who resubscribe within 180 days to access their previous Save Data Cloud backups”.
During earlier interviews Nintendo is also confirmed that certain games will not be providing the ability to save progress due to possible exploitation and cheating scenarios. Such games include Splatoon 2 and Let’s Go Pikachu/Eevee and will not support cloud saves.
Disclosure: Some of our articles include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, Geeky Gadgets may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more.